metrical Monday wk. 5

metrical Monday- green

Metrical Monday is a little behind today. Sorry. It was yet another holiday here and I took the three big kids to a movie at the mall. Then I tried to shop. That’s probably all I need to say about that because I want you to think good things about me.

Anyway. Back to today’s installment of metrical Monday.

It’s so convenient that spring-time has much written about it. It’s been hard to choose this week which one to read. However I think I’ve landed on a jewel.

The poem I chose this week reminds me of childhood and the long-awaited arrival of spring after winter. We always waited for the first daffodils to pop their heads out then we promptly plucked them up. Maybe our poet today, William Wordsworth, did this as well. He penned this poem in the early 1800s and was a great lover of nature and words. My kids said he had a good name for a writer. Agreed.

Daffodils

I wandered lonely as a cloud
That floats on high o’er vales and hills,
When all at once I saw a crowd,
A host, of golden daffodils;
Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

Continuous as the stars that shine
And twinkle on the milky way,
They stretched in never-ending line
Along the margin of a bay:
Ten thousand saw I at a glance,
Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.

The waves beside them danced; but they
Out-did the sparkling waves in glee:
A poet could not but be gay,
In such a jocund company:
I gazed–and gazed–but little thought
What wealth the show to me had brought:

For oft, when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood,
They flash upon that inward eye
Which is the bliss of solitude;
And then my heart with pleasure fills,
And dances with the daffodils.

Ah, so lovely and spring-ish. If only it wasn’t in the mid-90s here already and dry and dusty, I might go look for daffodils. Oh well.

The next thing we have is our verse for the week. In anticipation of Good Friday and Easter here is our verse for the week:

John 14:6

Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

So that’s what we have for this week. I hope your week is full of life-giving people and reflective moments about the beauty of Easter. Bonnets, baskets, Reese’s Eggs and Peeps. And of course, feel free to save me some if you are back in the US… I’ll be able to collect them soon. I can’t wait!

 

One thought on “metrical Monday wk. 5

  1. I actually thought of this poem today when I saw the first daffodils. (It’s 40-ish and damp here–hard to imagine it being 90s and dry! 🙂 )
    Thanks for more good suggestions.

Leave a Reply

