metrical Monday wk. 4

Metric Monday

We’ve now made it to week four… Yay!

Last week the kids were out of school and we had more time to spend on this project than we normally do. And you know what? It turns out they actually LIKE the poems more when they get to draw pictures and get creative in their poetry journals. And perhaps the whining had more to do with the attitude I had when I first approached this endeavor that went something like…

You Will Love Poetry. And Remember These Poems FOREVER!

In the hopes that at my funeral many, many years from now they would gush and say:

Mom taught us The Rime of the Ancient Mariner and Paradise Lost when I was five and it changed. my. life.

Snails

So I’m pulling back all of my lofty expectations and simply applauding when they learn what a wheel-barrow is and color it red. I’m going to call it #winning and be happy with that.

Anyway, this week we are focusing on one of my all time favorite poets. According to a very reliable online quiz if I were a poet I would be her (don’t judge, you’ve taken these quizzes too).

The enigmatic Emily Dickinson is up this week and the poem is one taught in high schools all across America. This would also be a good opportunity, if you’re so inclined, to talk about similes and metaphors. Sounds fun, right?

“Hope” is the thing with feathers

“Hope” is the thing with feathers –
That perches in the soul –
And sings the tune without the words –
And never stops – at all –
And sweetest – in the Gale – is heard –
And sore must be the storm –
That could abash the little Bird
That kept so many warm –
I’ve heard it in the chillest land –
And on the strangest Sea –
Yet – never – in Extremity,
It asked a crumb – of me.
Lovely.
As for a Bible memory verse I thought I’d stay with the concept of ‘Hope’ and choose:
Jeremiah 29:11  For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

I need the word hope this week and all it means for my present and future. I need to remember there is a bigger plan and I’m part of it and it is GOOD. Maybe you need to remember that today, too.
Later this week I hope to pop in later to talk about beta readers and how the novel-writing is going– we’ll see if it happens. Sorry, I couldn’t resist.
4 thoughts on “metrical Monday wk. 4

  1. Oh, how I love this idea! Poetry and Bible verses are important to me also–I have my kids memorize Bible verses and have thought about having them memorize poetry too. You just inspired me to put this into action. What better time than the first day of spring break? Thanks! 🙂 (Will be reading your previous Metrical Mondays as well.)

  2. I love the concept of putting a picture with words. And that verse is one of my favorites. Love you guys and gals.

Leave a Reply

