metrical Monday wk. 2

metrical Monday

With a little bit of fever, vomit, some big dreams and a splash of self-doubt thrown in for good measure, last week came and went in a flash. Now we’re sort of exhausted and limping or maybe shuffling into this week a little more tired than usual.

But, I am back this Monday with the next installment of metrical Monday. I know, you’re elated. And for those just joining me, I only started last week so you haven’t missed much.

A short recap: I pick one short poem and one Bible verse and challenge my three oldest to learn them in a week’s time. Last week I had mixed results. The oldest knocked it out of the park, the middle one did all right but needs to work on the poetry part and my favorite gal wasn’t quite sure about the whole poetry thing and may need more than chocolate to motivate her. Maybe letting her watch Frozen on loop would motivate her, though I’m not sure even that would work.

Anyway, I’m going to persevere. Doing anything with consistency has always been a challenge for me and I’m committed to seeing how this little experiment works out.

This week I’ve chosen a lovely little poem by American author and doctor William Carlos Williams. I’ve always been fascinated by his name and this short poem, The Red Wheelbarrow which is simple but paints a clear picture in the reader’s mind of the complete scene and will be fun for the kids to draw in their poetry journals. To find out more info on this poem and others you can go to The Poetry Foundation. In some cases you can even hear the poem read aloud. It’s a great resource.

The Red Wheelbarrow

so much depends
upon

a red wheel
barrow

glazed with rain
water

beside the white
chickens

From the Bible I’ve chosen Micah 6:8 for this week’s memorization. For my children I would love nothing more than for them to act justly, love mercy and walk humbly. And this is actually a verse I’ve thought about painting on a canvas so we can be reminded of it daily.

He has showed you, O man, what is good. And what does the Lord require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.

So that’s what we’re doing over here. If you decide to do this along with us let me know how it goes. And don’t forget to incorporate a poetry journal along with the practice of memorization. Someday your kids will love to flip through it and see all the amazing art they created about the poems and verses they hopefully still remember.

Have a great week!

One thought on “metrical Monday wk. 2

Leave a Reply

