metrical Monday wk.1

Metrical Monday

Yes. Yes I chose the word metrical because it begins with ‘m’ so it would go with Monday. It also means ‘of, relating to, or composed in poetic meter.’ So even if it stretches our minds a little bit to think poetry and not measurement I think it fits nicely.

Lately I’ve been annoyed by my kids’ apparent need to be entertained constantly. As of late it has been in the form of gaming– iPad, phone, computer– anything they can get their hands on. For the record, I hate electronic games. Hate them. Refuse to play them– except for Wii sports, which is a little like exercise, but I don’t like exercise either, so it’s a little strange. But for some reason (um, maybe because the word is saturated by them!) my three oldest want nothing more than to play these games. I hear the collective sigh of mothers all over the world who struggle with this same thing.

In an an attempt to woo them into loving poetry and memorizing scripture, both I feel are important,  I have decided that every week they will have a poem and a Bible verse to memorize. If the poem is long they will only have to memorize a couple of lines. But on Saturday we’ll report back and see who has learned their stuff and who gets the Cadbury silk bar. Yes, I’m bribing them with chocolate. They will also have to color a picture in their new poetry journal. Who knows, maybe some day my boys can impress a special lady with their mad poetry skills.

It’s a win-win for both of us.

Now how does this battle video games you ask? I’m not really sure, but I have a theory that if they can fill their minds with good stuff most of the time it will clean out the other rubbish that sneaks in there, like say video games. I also love poetry and I fear it will be the next to go in the US now that no one will be able to write in cursive once this generation grows up. Sadness. Good thing I’m in India where kids still learn how to write properly. Currently my five-year-old is learning cursive, much to her chagrin. Sorry, I’ll step down off my soapbox now.

So if you want to join along with the fun I will post our poem and Bible verse on Mondays so the work is already done for you. Easy peasy.

This week, we are talking about Christina Rossetti and her poem ‘Caterpillar’ which is perfect for springtime and has fun imagery, especially for kids. If you want to take it a step further you can do a little Rossetti bio because she was such a interesting lady.

Caterpillar

Brown and furry
Caterpillar in a hurry,
Take your walk
To the shady leaf, or stalk,
Or what not,
Which may be the chosen spot.
No toad spy you,
Hovering bird of prey pass by you;
Spin and die,
To live again a butterfly.

Our Bible memory for this week is a couple of my favorites :

Proverbs 3:5-6

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
in all your ways submit to him,
and he will make your paths straight.

So that’s what’s happening here on Mondays for the foreseeable future. I’m pretty excited about it in a very nerdy sort of way. Thanks for stopping by and let me know if you are as excited about poetry as I am.

And for those back home and those here, Happy St. Patrick’s Day and/or Happy Holi!

2 thoughts on “metrical Monday wk.1

  1. Wow!this is really a great beginning.i often have found myself searching for scripture verses to teach zora. Often depending on my memory or daily devotions n her kids church monthly memory verses. Now I have another great source, right here! Plus the poetry! Am inspired!! Thanks Kim!!

Leave a Reply

