spring fever- literally

It’s spring fever.  That is what the name of it is.  And when you’ve got it, you want – oh, you don’t quite know what it is you do want, but it just fairly makes your heart ache, you want it so!  ~Mark Twain

I just let a mosquito accidentally slip into our room as I was opening the window. He had been trapped between the glass and the screen–now he’s in our house. No worries, we’ll meet again when it’s 2 AM and the blasted thing buzzes my ear and I have to kill it before I can sleep again. The wand is charging in anticipation of our future meeting.

Spring is in the air, if only for a few short weeks. Then we will be getting AC’s cleaned out and ready for use. Spring is far too short here–it’s already getting hot during the day even though people are still wearing sweaters and wool scarves–but they do at least have on flip-flops or sandals.

And I can’t remember the last time it rained. Maybe last month? Or was that just fog? I think it was last year. In any case, it’s been a while and the air is full of dust that blankets our car and blows into the apartment so our feet turn brown on bottom. Gross.

Cleaning is a daily routine around here– if not the dust builds up on the floors and furniture overnight. And since we don’t have a dishwasher the dirty dishes require constant attention because if not, the ants will attempt a take over. And guess what, I discovered this morning that they’re back too.

So Spring. Flowers blooming, trees budding and life that was sleeping decides to wake up again. I felt like I was hibernating as well in a way. I just needed some time to do one of my favorite activities: pondering. I don’t think people spend enough time pondering. It is time well spent as long as you don’t ponder too much about just you–then it becomes not-so-good and a little depressing. But that’s another post altogether.

The winter here is great because it’s short and provides a reprieve from pests and cozy days huddled by the oil heater. Now, my laundry does take three days to dry on the line when it’s cold. Which is terribly inconvenient. But now that Spring is here the laundry is drying just fine, however my old friends mosquito and ant are coming back. There’s always a trade off.

And let me not forget to mention that change of weather means illnesses abound. February was rough on that front. And one night was so bad it was actually funny, but you might be eating your lunch so I’ll spare you the details. Let’s just say that stomach acid does in fact eat through marble enamel fairly quickly. Lesson learned. Right now, two of little ones actually have had viral fever cause by the weather. And I’ve found that any time I mention illness the weather is immediately to blame. That pesky Weather! What a knave!

So enjoy your Spring-time if you are here and if not enjoy the idea that someone somewhere is having a Spring-time while you are enduring a blizzard in the Mid-West. Your time will come soon enough and I will be on to other things such as scorching, suffocating heat.

If we had no winter, the spring would not be so pleasant; if we did not sometimes taste of adversity, prosperity would not be so welcome.  ~Anne Bradstreet

2 thoughts on “spring fever- literally

Leave a Reply

