a charming note

In the book Making a Literary Life author Carolyn See suggests writing charming notes (her words) to authors who have inspired you. This exercise is slightly, okay, really intimidating to me, but I can see the benefits of it so I decided to give it a try.

Because of where I live letters are not the best option available– I am very frightened of the post office actually having only gone there once where I saw a mass of people pushing and scrambling to get to the desk. It didn’t seem like something I wanted to be a part of due to my fear of being groped and all, so I decided that the regular post is to be avoided at all costs.

Instead, I opted for an email. I wrote a short but charming note expressing my gratefulness then re-read it about twenty times and agonized over my word choice. Do I sound witty? Or silly? Is it too formal? Too familiar? Seriously. It was five lines, but you would have thought I was sending a letter to Queen Elizabeth the way I fussed over it.

I finally pressed the send button and went to bed. The next morning I checked my inbox as usual. And to my surprise I had gotten a response! A very brief but friendly response. It was the most encouraging thing of the week aside from the fact that no one in my household threw up and we’ve had consistent power. I think I might throw a party tonight.

If you are an aspiring writer or dreamer I highly recommend See’s book mentioned above. Honestly, I hope that some day I’m receiving as well as sending these kinds of notes out. We’ll see. But it’s like my mother-in-law always says, “If you never have a dream, you never have a dream come true.” Exactly.

Have a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “a charming note

Leave a Reply

