the tortoise and the rough draft

Rough draft of 93,718 words– Done.

I should feel excited about this. And I guess I did for maybe about a day or two. Then I started reading books on editing and looking over what I’d written and… Ugh. No other word for it. There is so much to do on my story that I feel a little overwhelmed and paralyzed at the moment.

Character problems, grammar problems, dialogue problems… on and on.

I feel like I’ve got 93,718 words of pure mess to sort out. Pure. Mess.

Ugh.

Did I say that already? I mean it. It’s like when you drop an entire bottle of spaghetti sauce onto a marble floor and it explodes all over your kitchen. For a moment it seems easier to move to a new house than clean it up. So you just stand there and look at it for a while. Red sauce spattered all over the floor and cabinets and your pretty white dish towels. Where do you begin?

Ok, so I’m going to rely on a little Isak Dinesen to encourage me this week because I need it. I posted this quote last week, but it really applies to today, so I’m re-posting.

When you have a great and difficult task, something perhaps almost impossible, if you only work a little at a time, every day a little, suddenly the work will finish itself.” – Isak Dinesen

Little by little. The tortoise and the hare.

Okay… Chapter One.

4 thoughts on “the tortoise and the rough draft

  1. You can do it!!!! You are 93,000+ words further along than I am with my partially-completed outline, and probably in much better shape than you’re giving yourself credit for. Congratulations on your achievement, and good luck in your daily edits :)(BTW, your previous post about your grandmother was so sweet.)

    Can’t wait to run to the bookstore and buy a copy of your final draft!

    • Thanks Kari for the encouraging comment. Much needed right now…

      We need to chat, I didn’t know you have a WIP as well. Seems like no better time than with young kids running around everywhere than to write a novel, right?

  2. Whoo hoo!!! That is AWESOME!!!! How fun!!

    I can totally relate to your “pasta-sauce-on-the-floor” thing…. I broke a HUGE bottle of ketchup on our floor one day… I ended up just throwing a floor mop rag thing over it and leaving it for Adam to clean up 🙂 I just didn’t know where to start! haha!

    What an accomplishment!!! Keep rockin’ it!!! Whoo hoo!

Leave a Reply

