learning curve

I never thought I’d say this, but most of the time I don’t notice all the staring anymore. Yeah, I can hardly believe it myself. There are times if I’m alone I feel more self-conscious, but while we are all out as a family I’ve become a bit blase about it all now. Yes, my kids are cute and no I’m not from around here.

But from time-to-time we still get the folks who take pictures of us and our kids with their camera phones. Now that, I can’t stand. I don’t know why anyone who doesn’t know us personally would want a picture of us. What would you do with it anyway? A few weeks ago we were at the mall and I was sitting with numbers 2 and 3 and a man came up and asked me if he could have someone take his picture with us. Um, no. He looked utterly dejected that I had said no. Really? Why? I’m still trying to understand how some minds work.

They are probably the same minds that wonder how my mind works as well. Why wouldn’t I want a digital image of me and my kids with a total stranger?

I’d love to say that after almost one year I no longer make cultural faux pas. That I have it all together. But if I’m honest, and I do try to be, I still make mistakes. Sometimes they are big and sometimes they are small. But I like to think they are forgiveable at this point. Relating to other people takes work and understanding no matter which culture you are in. I’m still learning. I can’t imagine I will ever stop that process. Here, I’m finding things I like and will take with me. I’m learning and growing. I’m falling down (a lot) and getting back up. That’s just how I do things. I would say that’s how I roll, but I’m not hip enough for that verbiage.

Leave a Reply

