groundhogs and such

I love Groundhog Day! I know it’s a quirky little non-holiday, but I have loved it ever since High School. That’s when me and my BFF decided it be wonderful if life was like Groundhog Day (the movie) and we could do crazy things like ask really cute underclassmen out on dates and the next day no one would remember. It would be especially great that no one would remember if by chance they said, uh, no. (This is all hypothetical here).

Anyway, I sometimes feel a little like my current life is a bit monotonous, like GHD. I stay home, a lot during the week. I go to church on Sunday. That about sums it up.

Unfortunately, I feel like most of the time I just let life just sort of happen without truly grabbing the bull by the horns and going after what I want. Some days I don’t even know what it is I do want and I get sidetracked by other things like comparing myself to others, feeling regret for past mistakes, dwelling on the negatives of life here, etc, etc. It’s the same old hang-ups that I would love to be rid of once and for all. But it’s hard to get this brain to think afresh after thirty-something years of the same way of thinking (remember when that show Thirty-something seemed like a show about old people? Yikes!)

Anyway, I’ve been on a journey for a few months now to replace all the false things I tell myself with Truth. It’s been amazing; God has been faithful. But there have been difficult times as I have reflected on some of the attitudes and behaviors I have had when I was in my late teens and twenties. And as much as I would love to go back and show a lot more love to folks and less judgment, alas, I don’t have a time-machine, so that’s out. I can only start where I am and go from here.

So this year I’m encouraged that Punxsutawney Phil did not see his shadow and that supposedly Spring will come early (well, it’s actually already here where I live, but that’s neither here nor there) and the long, cold days of Winter can move on, and so can I (wow, that’s a terrible ending, but it’s all I’ve got right now).

Leave a Reply

