a very fruitcake Christmas

I have now officially spent my first Christmas in another country. It was busy. I cooked a bunch of food. We were around tons of people. We are all tired and I am thankful that today was a true day of rest (aside from the hour and half we spent at our first Indian birthday party, more on that later).

So for those of you brave enough to read on, here’s how it all went.

Friday I made a huge lunch for our family of roasted chicken, potatoes, stuffing, applesauce and green beans. It was so good. I mean really good. I also received my one and only fruit cake this year. Apparently, as gifts people give fruit cakes. Hum. Not sure it’s a tradition I’ll adopt. The funny thing was the person who gave it to me knew I didn’t like them. But I digress.

Then at four we headed into the city for a church service. The Hubs was helping out so we had to get there super early. So it was up to me to occupy my three for the pre-show and during the not-so-kid friendly service. There were many glares and “you are going to be in big trouble if you don’t sit still and stop talking” looks given by yours truly. I’m good at those. Bud managed to break the seat he was sitting in and Princess entertained those around with her dance skills.

Then afterword, they served fruit cake.

We skipped the cake and headed home so the kids could skype with one set of grandparents and open a gift. The next morning (Christmas morning) the Hubs, who was helping out at church again, left very early and we followed behind in a taxi a few hours later. No rickshaws today!!! What a gift. Me and the kids endured each other again for another hour, all the while Boo is asking me in a loud whisper “Is it over yet?” I must confess it’s hard for me to feel Christmassy managing three kids during a church service. But I did my best– I tried to smile a bit more than the night before.

Afterwords, again, there was more fruitcake.

The kids and I opted for some Nescafe that was being served as well. As I was walking back to the table with hot drinks in hand I felt something on my head. I knew what it was  instinctively and confirmed it when I reached up and touched something wet. Bird poop. How lovely. The pastor’s wife helped me clean it out and soon we headed home with some very tired and grumpy kids. They wanted to open gifts, but we waited until we could see the other grandparents and skype with them while opening the gifts they had sent. We then had a dinner of baked beans, very fatty and dry ham, and more mashed potatoes.

The day concluded with our landlord and his son joining us for some dessert in the evening. It was nice to get to know him a little better and the quiet company was nice on such a busy day. We had invited a couple more neighbors, but they didn’t make it over. None-the-less, it was an okay day after all.

Today has been about waking up and watching the Cowboys and taking naps and going to a birthday party for a neighbor we don’t know at all. The highlight (if you can call it that) was one of their guests was a Chinese guy who was determined to have his picture made with one of our kids. Boo was not a willing participant, so right as we were leaving he scooped Princess up and asked his friend to snap a picture. She started screaming and I wasn’t too happy either. I took her before he got the picture. Is it me or is that just creepy that people want their pictures taken with my kids?

So that concludes another culture-filled weekend. I had several thoughts on Christmas, but this post is already too long, so I’ll save them for another post. Merry Christmas too all, and to all a good night.

2 thoughts on “a very fruitcake Christmas

  1. Glad you had a good Christmas.
    About the picture taken…if that doesn’t happen with locals there, be glad. If you lived here it would happen ALL the time! Some of our (American) friends have 4 kids (blonde hair, blue eyes). They get this a lot! Kids are used to it now and it’s not a big deal. But, if you aren’t expecting it, it can be a shock. I’ve even been requested for pictures with random people here. I’m okay w/it except when it’s guys. Then it’s weird.

Leave a Reply

