just not the same

It’s Friday night here and I’m getting ready to turn in, whereas most folks I know are basking in the glow of early morning Black Friday deals. I suppose I could shop online, but I’m just not into it. I’d rather be out on a cold, brisk November morning with my over-priced Starbucks coffee in hand and a friend alongside, driving around the Metroplex in search of good deals. It’s not so much about the stuff as it is the experience.

Christmas is like that. It’s not just the day that I love, but the journey from Black Friday until the twenty-fifth. The sounds and smells as you walk through stores; the gaudy decorations; the politically correct “Happy Holiday” signs up everywhere; these things I will miss this year.

And of course there are the parties with friends where we drink cider and listen to Bing Crosby and Nat King Cole. Ah heaven. Um, I won’t be getting that here. Because even though they acknowledge Christmas, they focus on the most commercial aspects of the holiday, the aesthetics, not the true meaning. Perhaps I shouldn’t be critical of this, though, because recently it seems that our culture does this too. Too much Santa and Jingle Bells and not enough Jesus and Silent Night.

We do have some parties planned, though I must say I’m a fish out of water here. I have no idea what is party food here and even how to be a hostess in this culture. I’m getting a little anxious just thinking about it already!

But ready or not, it’s the Christmas season for us here as everywhere else, even if we are in the minority. I want to make it special for the kids and in some way memorable for good reasons and not because it was the toughest Christmas of our lives because we were away from all of our close family and friends. I have to force myself to push through my emotions that keep telling me “this just doesn’t even feel like Christmas” and try to make it feel like the holidays for my family. Who knows, maybe I’ll get a new perspective on Christmas that will make it even more real and meaningful than it ever has been before…maybe.

 

Leave a Reply

