communication 101

Today I worked like a madwoman to get our apartment cleaned and to prepare for a late lunch we were going to have with all of Jon’s classmates. We were going to order pizza and have some dessert for them so I could have a chance to get to know them and as a way of being hospitable. What could go wrong with this simple plan?

Well, all of his classmates are vegetarians, so I had to do some thinking on what to make. I settled on apple crisp made out of  apples that had the label of “apple grany” printed above them at the supermarket. Sorry Granny Smith. Class was getting out at 1:30 and so I ordered pizza and tried to clean as best as I could since my maid (yeah I have one, don’t hate me) has had the flu since Friday. I know everyone is so sad for me about this, but it really is hard to keep things clean all on my own here! Anyway, I digress.

So the students arrived. The pizzas arrived, but we were still shy a few classmates so everyone decided they had to wait until every person was there before we could eat. The practical me wanted to eat hot pizza, but it didn’t seem to bother them that it was getting cold so I let it go.

As we are all standing around, there was a little lull in the conversation. I felt awkward, so I tried to be funny, which is what I do in uncomfortable situations. I remembered that the Hubs had told me once that one of his teachers had referred to meat eaters as “flesh eaters” and so I referred to us as such thinking that was a funny way to look at it. As if the blank stares weren’t enough, I then proceeded to insert my foot in my mouth even farther when I lamented that it’s so hard to make a dessert without baking something and that required eggs. I also told them not to look in my refrigerator of they would see a whole lot of eggs. I was on a roll.

Silence.

Awkwardness.

Is that something burning in the kitchen? I went to check. A few minutes later I emerged and tried to make small talk with some of the girls, but they aren’t exactly small talk kind of gals I guess. Or maybe it was the cracks I made about eggs and meat. I’m not sure.

There’s still so much I have to learn about the people here and how to communicate without offending is high on the list. So a word to the wise: avoid meat jokes around vegetarians and never refer to yourself as a flesh eater. Lesson learned.

3 thoughts on “communication 101

  1. Thank you for sharing this! I literally laughed out loud… hard. How funny! I could totally see the look on your face as you were describing this. Hilarious. Thanks for making me laugh!

Leave a Reply

