cold tangerines

Right now I’m reading a book called Cold Tangerines. I’m probably behind the times with this one, but I’ve been buried under a pile of theology books for the past five years. The first chapter has me hooked, which is the point, I guess.

This quote hit me:

“The big moments are the daily, tiny moments of courage and forgiveness and hope that we grab on to and extend to one another. That’s the drama of life, swirling all around us, and generally I don’t even see it, because I’m too busy waiting to become whatever it is I think I am about to become. The big moments are in every hour, every conversation, every meal, every meeting” (p.17)

I feel like I’m always waiting to begin living. I can think back now and see how I have lived like this for most of my life. No stage of life has ever been enough within itself, no moments big enough. I essentially live in contradiction to my own theology.

So I’m going to read this book, pray and ponder it’s contents in the hopes that I will be inspired to find joy in every day, every moment. To live creatively and see the possibilities for right now.

Leave a Reply

