On Writing

I’m reading a fascinating book on writing. It sounds a little ironic when I say it like that, but I want to be a better writer, therefore I read. The book is called Stein on Writing and I have so enjoyed it. I have been writing for years, though admittedly not well. Most of my writing has been just for me as an escape from the everyday–a way to process things that happen. But now I am trying to write with the hopes that someone might actually read what I write, be entertained by it or maybe even, oh my, benefit from it. It’s a tall order, I know.

So the book I’m reading has some wonderful quotes in it. Here are a few:

– Nonfiction conveys information. Fiction evokes emotion.

– You are a story-teller, not an interior decorator. (in regards to minimizing description)

-There are many ways characterization can go wrong in the hands of a less experienced writer… There is the protagonist with a weak will, and the villian who is merely behaving badly.

– People who are exactly like other people probably don’t exist. But people who seem like most other people litter our lives, and we don’t usually seek their company because they are boring.

That last quote caught me because I’m probably one of those boring people! I also have a protagonist right now that is a bit too normal, a bit too ordinary, a bit like me. So I was working on trying to spruce my character up last night and decided she needed a tatoo and the quirk of not liking lettuce. That seems pretty interesting to me… because really, who doesn’t like salad?

Leave a Reply

