Ventursome: willing to take risks or embark on difficult or unusual courses of action

We took an “intercultural competency” test for our training time in Chicago. One of the categories was titled “venturesome.” The highest you could score was 15, a median score was 9 and I scored a 3, of course. I’m not that venturesome.

I take the same routes to and from places, most of the time. I also don’t really like ambiguity or change very much. I have no desire to jump out of a plane and if you want to try something new, I’m probably not the person you would call. Sounds pretty boring, right? Well, that’s me.

So why am I moving to the other side of the world, to a culture that is totally foreign to me in every way possible? I have asked this question before, plenty of times. Why would I be sent to a place that requires a certain amount of venturesomeness when for me that usually means ordering something new off the Chili’s menu?

As I’ve thought about this, I am reminded that God has always used the weak things of this world to show his strength. This is not a task I can manage on my own–not a chance. It’s a super-human task before me and I am sometimes scared to death of getting on an airplane and moving my family to the other side of the world. And while I can’t do it in my own strength, I know that I must to be obedient. So I’m taking my 3 points of venturesomeness and hoping it will be multiplied.

And multiplied.

And multiplied so perhaps I can get to at least 8 or 9 or so.

Leave a Reply

